What I’m Reading – December

Screenshot_2015-12-01-08-19-22-1

Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body. – Joseph Addison

And here we are, December has crept up on us and the next thing you know we’ll be cleaning up bit of Christmas tree and making goals for 2016. I keep hearing ‘where did the year go?’. As ever, I’m approaching the end of this year with a desperate plea of the soul to slow down, savour what God has for us in the quiet of Advent and the Christmas season and maybe pick up a few more books whist snuggling with my family by the light of the twinkling Christmas tree lights. Slow is a discipline, it’s intentional and some days I feel like I’m digging my heals in and dust is flying behind me – but slow is my jam, slow is on my ‘to-do’ list (wink).

So here are a few books on the shelf this month.

In the hand:

The Greatest Gift – Ann Voskamp

greatest gift

Unwrapping The Greatest Gift – Ann Voskamp

(reading this with the children everyday)

greatestgift 2

Creativity, Inc – Ed Catmull

creativity inc

Still reading…

Composing A Life – Mary Catherine Bateson

a life

On Audio

For The Love – Jen Hatmaker

(This is SERIOUSLY laugh.out.loud funny!)

for the love

On The Kindle

A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens

christmas carol

As ever, my reading repertoire also includes lots of bible, poetry and various read-alouds with the children.

So what would you recommend for my ‘must read’ list for next year?

Catch up on my last few ‘What I’m Reading’ posts here and here!

5 thoughts on “What I’m Reading – December

  1. Hi Leah, I love pursuing your reading list 🙂 My favourite reads of this year, which might make the best suggestions are: The Christmas Story Book – this is a wonderful compilation of Christmas stories from around the world, written for children but I think I enjoy it even more than them! I think you might like it too. I’ve just opened it up again where I left off at the end of last Christmas http://www.amazon.co.uk/Christmas-Story-Book-Ineke-Verschuren/dp/0863150772/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1449055129&sr=8-2&keywords=The+christmas+story+book Two other great reads were Umer Godden’s House of Brede, and Erin Lindsay McCabe’s I Shall Be Near to You – both beautiful! Have a wonderful Advent!

  2. I really enjoyed 84 Charing Cross Road and the sequel too this year. I also REALLY enjoyed Bequest of Wings by Annis Duff and the sequel was good too, Longer Flight…the first was my favorite, though. I also just LOVED Stillmeadow Calendar and Harvest at Stillmeadow by Gladys Tabor. If you like memoirs about just daily living on a farm, you will enjoy these. I was pleasantly surprised by Far from the Maddening Crowd…I’m trying to finish Freckles by Gene Stratton-Porter also. If you want a twaddly light read that draws inspiration from the movie You’ve Got Mail and is full of literary references, Pepper in My Gumbo by Mary Jane Hathaway.

    I enjoyed both of those Voskamp titles, I read the adult one last year and I liked it so much! We as a family enjoyed the children’s version last year as well, but I didn’t do the ornaments. We just read and enjoyed the story. 🙂

    1. Ooh what wonderful suggestions! I’m going to be looking quite a few of these up. Yes, I love reading about life on a farm, it’s my dream 🙂

Leave a Reply

